A Girl in Nepal Interview Series: Jangmu Sherpa

This week, I’d like to take you to the Everest region of Nepal to meet five girls who are currently in the 10th grade.  In the Solukhumbu, 70% of all girls drop out of school after 10th grade because the higher secondary school is too difficult to reach both geographically and financially.  We’re hoping to change that.

Each day, we will introduce you to a new girl.  The women range in age from 17-24 but are united in their desire to continue their studies.  Today, I’d like to introduce you to Jangmu Sherpa.

Jangmu, how old are you?
I am 22 years old.

What would you like to do after school?
I would like to do social work.

Tell me about your family.
I live in a joint family.  We are 11 people; my grandfather and grandmother, mom and dad, 4 younger sisters, 2 elder sisters (living separately), and 2 younger brothers.  We have a poor family condition.  I want to go for higher education but my family cannot afford higher education.

Why would you want a spot in the hostel?
From my home, if I have to walk it is 6 hours [one way] walk to Salleri where the school is located.  So, I can’t come and go every day.  My family can’t afford a living place for me near to Salleri.  If I could get a spot in this hostel, I am ready to work as a helper before and after school as this is the only way I can get a higher education.

Why do want to continue your studies?
I have seen the very hard life of my mom and dad and it’s all because of illiteracy.  I don’t want to repeat the same in my generation,.  I want to learn more and see the world through the eyes of an educated woman.  I want to do something for my society and for the women of my society as they are behind others.

Leave a Reply

