Meet Binod – Edge of Seven’s Guide for Our Fall Trek

In the fall of 2012, Edge of Seven is offering a trek through Nepal’s Everest Region. Beginning on October 21st, this 2-week trip will offer stunning views of the Everest Region and an opportunity to visit several of Edge of Seven’s recently completed community development projects. Trekkers will return home with a greater sense of the Nepali culture and an increased understanding of the impact that Edge of Seven has had on education and poverty in the region. Proceeds from this trek will go towards continuing to empower girls in rural Nepal. 

Meet Binod Subedi, once local to Nepal and now a Colorado resident. Binod is our fantastic guide for the Everest Trek. A bit about him…

Almost one year ago, on March 18th 2011, I arrived to the U.S. for the very first time.  I had spent the first 27 years of my life halfway across the world, born and raised in Nepal.  Over the past twelve months, I have settled into life in America but I miss my native country on a daily basis.  While Nepal is still developing, lacking basic social support in education, water, and healthcare, it’s a country that can’t help but make you fall in love.

I grew up in a rural village near the Annapurna range of the Himalayas.  No matter where I was or what I was doing, the mountains grounded me.  They were my home.  As soon as I finished my education, I became a trekking guide like many of my uncles to help support my family.  I loved every minute of showing the world my country and telling visitors about the people of Nepal.  It’s a magical place filled with rich culture, stunning landscapes, and the warmest people you will ever meet.  I’m thrilled to return this fall to lead the next Edge of Seven adventure!

Image

Edge of Seven's Founder (Erin Guttenplan) alongside Binod Subedi, our guide for the fall trek.

For more information on the Everest Trek, please visit: http://www.edgeofseven.org/Adventure.html. To sign up, email Edge of Seven Program Director, Emily Stanley, at emily@edgeofseven.org.

2 thoughts on “Meet Binod – Edge of Seven’s Guide for Our Fall Trek

  1. Binod will be a wonderful guide for Edge of Seven’s Fall Trek in the Everest Region. I know because he was my guide in the Annapurna Region and has since become my friend. I hope that many folks will join him in discovering a country and a people that I have grown quite fond of and am extremely proud to say that they have made a huge difference in my life.

  2. This is an absolute golden words that you have posted about Trekking in Nepal.This is very nice which can impress anyone and tempt to post a comment.Really great contribution.Thanks alot.I am appreciated to see such a huge and useful information regarding Trekking in Nepal. Thanks dude.

Leave a Reply

